Guide for foreigners living or traveling in Thailand

As of May 6, Thailand has reinstated the 14-day mandatory quarantine for arrivals in the country, whether or not they have been vaccinated, regardless of nationality.

Thai embassies and consulates issue a Certificate of Entry (COE) to all travelers to Thailand, including those on the visa waiver list, as well as 60-day tourist visas and special tourist visas (STV).

Foreigners entering Thailand are required to have an ASQ hotel reservation and Covid-19 insurance.

Currently, only semi-commercial flights are allowed to land in Thailand.

Foreigners allowed to enter are diplomats and foreign workers including their families, business representatives and experts invited by the government, permanent residents, foreigners with Thai families, students and their guardians, medical tourists and their escorts, business visa holders, Thai Elite visa holders, APEC card holders, STV and tourist visa holders, non-immigrant O retirement visa holders, non-immigrant OA and OX visa holders and migrant workers with official documents.

All foreigners should contact their local Thai embassy to apply for an entry certificate and obtain further information.

Until September 30, 2021, Thailand will allow a limited number of long-stay tourists under the STV program.

This long-stay visa is open to foreign nationals who travel to Thailand with the intention of staying long-term as a tourist.

Eligible persons can contact the Tourism Authority of Thailand office or the Thai Embassy in their place of residence for more information.

Amnesty and Visa Extension

What is the visa amnesty?

Starting May 29, 2021, all foreign nationals living in Thailand who are affected by the Covid-19 crisis will be granted a 60-day visa extension

Who is affected by the visa amnesty?

All foreign nationals legally living in Thailand with a visa exemption entry stamp, tourist visa, non-immigrant visa or annual extension of stay.

What are the rules for visa amnesty?

Visa or residence permit still valid and updated by the local immigration office.

Foreigners holding a long-term visa, such as a work visa, marriage visa or retirement visa, must apply for their annual extension at the immigration office as usual.

Foreign nationals do not need a letter from the embassy to receive an automatic visa extension due to Covid-19.

Is the Covid-19 visa extension free?

No, the Covid-19 visa extension costs 1,900 baht.

Will the visa amnesty be extended?

There is no indication that this visa amnesty or grace period will be extended.

What happens when the visa amnesty is lifted or not extended?

Once the situation is resolved and normalcy returns, foreigners must leave Thailand by the expiration date of the residence permit in their passport or apply for the appropriate type of visa at the immigration office.

Travel bans

Most international flights are prohibited, but some semi-commercial flights are allowed to land in Thailand.

Foreigners allowed to enter Thailand must apply for a “Certificate of Entry to Thailand” before booking a seat on the available repatriation flight.

90 day declaration

If you are a foreigner staying in Thailand for more than 90 consecutive days and holding a non-immigrant visa or an extension of stay, you are required by Thai immigration to declare your current address every 90 days.

You can file the TM47 notification in person, by mail, online or through an agent.

Consequences of overstaying your visa

During the Covid-19 crisis in Thailand, some foreign nationals may find themselves overstaying their visa, either by mistake, miscalculating the length of their stay, forgetting the expiration date of their visa, or due to unexpected flight cancellations due to travel restrictions.

As a foreigner, you are strongly advised to avoid staying too long in Thailand.

But if you find yourself in Thailand with an expired visa, it is very important that you act quickly and in the right way.

Cancellation of visa on arrival

Travelers from the following countries are no longer eligible for a visa on arrival: Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malta, Mexico, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Uzbekistan and Vanuatu.

Travelers from these countries are required to obtain an appropriate visa to travel to Thailand.

Although the visa on arrival for Russia has been cancelled, Russian passport holders can still enter Thailand for 30 days under the bilateral agreement.

Source: Nation Thailand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button